English [en]   Deutsch [de]   español [es]   français [fr]   hrvatski [hr]   italiano [it]   日本語 [ja]   한국어 [ko]   українська [uk]  

ÉducationÉtudes de casInde → Lycée professionnel d'Irimpanam

L'original de cette page est en anglais.

Lycée professionnel d'Irimpanam (VHSS Irimpanam)

L'article ci-dessous est basé sur les informations que nous a fournies l'équipe pédagogique de l'école.

Situation

L'école se trouve dans l'Irimpanam, une zone proche de la ville de Tripunithura, dans le district d'Ernakulam, de l'État du Kerala , en Inde.

À propos

Fondé en 1940, le lycée professionnel d'Irimpanam (Vocational Higher Secondary School Irimpanam ou VHSS Irimpanam) est une école privée dotée d'une aide de l'État. Elle propose des classes allant de la fin de l'école primaire jusqu'au lycée : grades 5 à 7 (de 10 à 12 ans) et grades 8 à 10 (de 13 à 15 ans), respectivement. Quelques 1 000 élèves y étudient.

Motivations

Notre établissement s'est penché plus particulièrement sur la promotion des principaux aspects de la philosophie du projet GNU, tels la liberté de diffuser le savoir et la liberté de coopérer avec notre communauté en contribuant à l'amélioration des logiciels. Cet intérêt pour les logiciels Swathanthra (1) est dans une grande mesure le résultat de ce que nous avons appris lors de réunions organisées par le groupe indien d'utilisateurs du libre (ILUG-Cochin) [en] de la ville voisine de Kochi. D'avoir participé à ses réunions nous a aussi aidé à travailler en relation directe avec la communauté du libre.

Comment nous avons fait

La migration vers le logiciel libre dans notre école est le résultat d'un projet conçu et mené par le Gouvernement du Kerala, IT@School [en]. Le projet, lancé en 2001, réunit plusieurs milliers d'écoles du Kerala et en 2006 il a migré complètement vers le logiciel libre.

Photo d'élèves à un rassemblement autour du logiciel libre.

Élèves à un rassemblement autour du logiciel libre organisé par le Swathanthra Software Koottayma de VHSS Irimpanam.

Le gouvernement à mis en place des classes de mise à niveau pour les professeurs, pour leur enseigner les bases du nouveau système d'exploitation libre, et leur apprendre à l'installer. Le nouveau système a été personnalisé pour la première fois par SPACE [en], une agence basée au Kerala qui promeut l'usage du logiciel libre dans le public comme le privé. SPACE, ainsi que le LUG de Swathanthra, ont joué un rôle fondamental au cours du processus en fournissant une assistance constante aux professeurs. Un des ateliers organisés par SPACE nous a aidés à construire le site web de notre école en utilisant des logiciels libres.

L'apprentissage ne s'est pas limité au logiciel, et nous enseignons aussi les grandes lignes de la maintenance matérielle aux professeurs et aux élèves. Dans notre école, des élèves de 10 ans savent assembler un ordinateur.

L'usage de programmes libres dans les classes a été facilité par la mise en place de sessions de formation pour apprendre aux professeurs à utiliser des programmes spécifiques à l'enseignement de différentes matières. Par exemple, il y a eu une formation pour les professeurs de mathématiques, sur l'usage de Dr Geo pour enseigner la géométrie, une autre pour les professeurs de chimie sur le dessin de molécules organiques avec Chemtool, et beaucoup d'autres encore.

D'autres activités de formation ont été conduites en coopération avec l'ILUG-Cochin pour nous apprendre les usages de différentes applications libres, comme Blender, Inkscape et l'interface en ligne de commande.

L'école a aussi ouvert un canal IRC où les élèves peuvent demander de l'aide concernant les problèmes qu'ils peuvent rencontrer.

Attachement au logiciel libre

Pour commencer, le nouveau système était utilisé en double démarrage, parce que nous, les professeurs, n'étions pas familiarisés avec les logiciels libres, mais nous en avons rapidement maîtrisé l'essentiel. Aujourd'hui, aucun système privateur n'est installé sur nos ordinateurs, et nous n'utilisons pas de logiciel privateur. Seuls des logiciels libres sont utilisés, en classe comme dans les bureaux de l'administration.

Nous utilisons une grande variété de programmes libres dans nos classes, comme GIMP, Tux Paint, Audacity, GPeriodic et LibreOffice, et la liste n'est pas exclusive.

Nous initions nos élèves à la programmation en langage Python, dès le grade 8 (13 ans).

Capture de l'interface de TuxPaint en malayalam, montrant le tampon de la
rose du désert.

Écoutez un élève prononcer le nom malayalam de la rose du désert.

Résultats

Dans l'État du Kerala, l'enseignement est maintenant « assisté par l'informatique », c'est-à-dire que les élèves ont un accès direct au savoir technologique durant l'enseignement ordinaire, et pas seulement au labo informatique, ceci grâce au grand nombre d'applications éducatives disponibles sous GNU/Linux.

La transparence et les méthodes de coopération du logiciel libre ont aidé les élèves et les professeurs à s'immerger dans la technique et les a rendus capables de contribuer à la communauté de plusieurs manières. Une de nos contributions importantes a été de localiser l'interface de Tux Paint en malayalam, notre langue maternelle.

Une autre contribution a été l'addition de nouveaux tampons à TuxPaint. Des élèves des grades 6 et 7 ont photographié des fleurs de la région et ont traité les images en utilisant le programme GIMP. Les images ainsi obtenues ont été intégrées à TuxPaint, avec le nom des fleurs en malayalam. De plus, les élèves se sont enregistrés en prononçant le nom de ces fleurs, et quand un utilisateur sélectionne un des tampons, il entend le nom de la fleur prononcé en malayalam.

Regardez ou téléchargez la vidéo sous-titrée en français, ou bien la vidéo non sous-titrée et les sous-titres SubRip.

Ces deux activités ont été encouragées par le Swathanthra Software Koottayma du lycée d'Irimpanam (SSK VHSS Irimpanam), un groupe d'élèves et de professeurs de l'école intéressés par le logiciel libre. Son but est de promouvoir la philosophie du libre et d'introduire de nouveaux logiciels dans GNU/Linux afin de participer à la communauté. Le groupe organise des réunions mensuelles et pratique plusieurs sortes d'activités pour encourager ses membres à expérimenter et explorer les logiciels libres afin de mettre en pratique les libertés qu'ils offrent.

Élèves et professeurs participent chaque année à des rassemblements tels que le congrès national du logiciel libre [National Free Software Conference] et la journée de la cyber-sécurité [Cyber Safe Day], une manière de rester en contact et de partager nos expériences avec les autres écoles et avec la communauté du libre.

L'implication et la collaboration des professeurs, des élèves et des groupes locaux a été essentielle au succès de ce projet gouvernemental ambitieux.

(1) Swathanthra est le mot sanscrit pour « libre ». 

Remerciements

Les illustrations de cette page, ainsi que le fichier audio, sont l'œuvre du Swathanthra Software Koottayma du VHSS Irimpanam qui les a placées sous licence Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported (Creative Commons paternité, partage dans les mêmes conditions, 3.0 non transposée).

Autres études de cas en Inde
Retour aux études de cas

[logo de la FSF]« Notre mission est de préserver, protéger et promouvoir la liberté d'utiliser, étudier, copier, modifier et redistribuer les programmes informatiques, et de défendre les droits des utilisateurs de logiciel libre. »

La Fondation pour le logiciel libre (FSF) est le principal sponsor institutionnel du système d'exploitation GNU. Soutenez GNU et la FSF en achetant des manuels et autres, en adhérant à la FSF en tant que membre associé, ou en faisant un don, soit directement à la FSF, soit via Flattr.

Haut de la page

English [en]   Deutsch [de]   español [es]   français [fr]   hrvatski [hr]   italiano [it]   日本語 [ja]   한국어 [ko]   українська [uk]  

Thanks to your support, 2015 marks 30 years of the FSF! In the next 30 years, we want to do even more to defend computer user rights. To kick off in that direction, we're setting our highest-ever fundraising goal of $525,000 by January 31st. Read more.

$525K
26% (137K)
Count me in

EducationCase StudiesIndia → Vocational Higher Secondary School Irimpanam

Vocational Higher Secondary School Irimpanam

The following report is based on information provided to us by the school's staff.

Location

The school is located in Irimpanam, an area close to the city of Tripunithura, in the Ernakulam district of the State of Kerala, India.

About

Founded in 1940, the Vocational Higher Secondary School Irimpanam is a privately owned school aided by the State. It offers instruction from Upper Primary to High School levels (grades 5 to 7 and 8 to 10 respectively). Nearly 1,000 students from 10 to 15 years old attend the school.

Motivation

Our institution took special interest in promoting the main aspects of the philosophy of the GNU Project, such as the freedom to share knowledge and the freedom to cooperate with our community by contributing improvements to computer programs. This awareness about Swathanthra Software (1) was largely the result of what we learned at the meetings organized by the Indian Libre User Group (ILUG-Cochin) in the nearby city of Kochi. Attending those meetings also helped us to work in close connection with the Free Software community.

How We Did It

The migration to Free Software in our school was the result of a project designed and established by the Government of Kerala, called IT@School. The project, started in 2001, involved several thousand schools in Kerala and in 2006 it switched completely to Free Software.

Image of students at a Free Software event.

Students at a Free Software event organized by SSK VHSS Irimpanam.

Training courses for teachers were implemented by the government to teach us the basics of the new Free Operating System and how to install it. The new system was customized for the first time by SPACE, an agency based in Kerala that promotes the use of Free Software in the private and public sectors. SPACE, as well as local Swathanthra Software users groups, played a fundamental role during the process by providing constant support to teachers. One of the workshops organized by SPACE helped us to build the website of our school using Free Software.

Training was not limited to software, it also included teaching the basics of hardware maintenance to teachers and students. In our school, 10 years old students know how to assemble a PC.

The use of Free programs in the classroom was facilitated by the implementation of training modules aimed at instructing teachers on the use of specific programs for teaching various subjects. For example, there was a training module for teachers of Mathematics on how to use Dr Geo for teaching geometry, another one for teachers of Chemistry on how to draw organic molecules using Chemtool, and many others.

Other training activities were conducted jointly by the school and ILUG-Cochin to teach us the use of different Free Software applications such as Blender, Inkscape, and the command line interface.

The school has also opened an IRC channel where students can ask questions about issues they may encounter.

Commitment to Free Software

At the beginning the new system was used on a dual-boot basis, because we teachers were not familiar with Free Software, but we soon got acquainted with it to a great extent. At present, no proprietary systems are installed in any of our computers and no proprietary programs are being used. Only Free Software is being used in the classroom and in the administration offices.

We use a wide range of free programs in the classroom, such as GIMP, Tux Paint, Audacity, GPeriodic and LibreOffice, but there are many others.

Students are also introduced to the programming language Python as from grade 8 (13 years old).

Results

Image of the TuxPaint interface in Malayalam showing the stamp for 
the Adeenia flower.

Listen to a student pronounce the name of the Adeenia flower in Malayalam.

Education in the State of Kerala has become "IT-enabled", meaning that students are getting first hand technology knowledge while learning regular curriculum subjects outside the IT Lab. This is possible due to the large number of high quality educational applications available in GNU/Linux.

The transparency and the cooperative method of Free Software helped students and teachers to dive deep into technology and made them capable of contributing to the community in various ways. One important contribution was the localization of the interface of Tux Paint in Malayalam, our mother tongue.

Another contribution was the addition of new stamps in TuxPaint. Native flowers were photographed and the pictures edited by 6th and 7th grade students using the image editing program GIMP. The resulting images were then integrated in TuxPaint with the name of the flowers written in Malayalam. As a plus, students recorded with their own voices the name of the flowers, so when the user selects one of the stamps, she will hear the name of the flower in Malayalam. A video was recorded to illustrate how it works and how the activity was done.

Watch and download the video. Read and download the English subtitles in SubRip format.

Both activities were promoted by Swathanthra Software Koottayma of VHSS Irimpanam (SSK VHSS Irimpanam), a Free Software group of teachers and students based on the school. Its aim is to build awareness on the philosophy of Free Software and to introduce new applications in GNU/Linux as a way of contributing to the community. The group organizes monthly meetings and it performs various kinds of activities to encourage its members to experiment and explore Free Software so as to put into practice the freedoms that it grants.

As a way of keeping in touch and sharing experiences with other schools and with the Free Software community, teachers and students each year participate in events such as the National Free Software Conference and the Cyber Safe Day.

The commitment and the collaboration of teachers, students and local groups was essential to the success of this large scale government project.

(1) Swathanthra is the Sanskrit word for "free" as in freedom.

Credits

Credits for both images shown on this page, as well as for the audio file, go to Swathanthra Software Koottayma of VHSS Irimpanam, who released them under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

More Case Studies in India
Back to Case Studies

 [FSF logo] “Our mission is to preserve, protect and promote the freedom to use, study, copy, modify, and redistribute computer software, and to defend the rights of Free Software users.”

The Free Software Foundation is the principal organizational sponsor of the GNU Operating System. Support GNU and the FSF by buying manuals and gear, joining the FSF as an associate member, or making a donation, either directly to the FSF or via Flattr.

back to top