Case Studies in Italy

Italy consists of 20 administrative divisions called “regions,” fifteen of which have ordinary statutes, and five are autonomous under special statutes that grant them particular forms of autonomy.

Below are listed some of the educational institutions in Italy that are using free/libre software.

  • Schools in South Tyrol

    South Tyrol, also known as the Autonomous Province of Bolzano, is one of the two provinces that form the autonomous region of Trentino-Alto Adige (Südtirol in German and Ladin).

    Official languages in South Tyrol are Italian, German, and Ladin. The school system includes educational institutions for each of these languages: 78 for German, 24 for Italian, and 7 for Ladin. All Italian-language schools in South Tyrol were migrated to free software.