[ < ] [ > ]   [ << ] [ Up ] [ >> ]         [Top] [Contents] [Index] [ ? ]

History of the Accounting Utilities

I don't have any idea who originally wrote these utilities. If anybody does, please send some mail to noel@gnu.ai.mit.edu and I'll add your information here!

Since the first alpha versions of this software in late 1993, many people have contributed to the package. They are (in alphabetical order):

Eric Backus <ericb@lsid.hp.com>

Suggested fixes for HP-UX 9.05 using /bin/cc: configure assumed you were using gcc and tacked on -Wall etc. He also noticed that file_rd.c was doing pointer arithmetic on a void * pointer (non-ANSI).

Christoph Badura <bad@flatlin.ka.sub.org>

Christoph was a BIG HELP in computing statistics, most notably k*sec stuff! He also did Xenix testing and contributed some Makefile fixes and output optimizations.

Michael Calwas <calwas@ttd.teradyne.com>

Fixed bugs in mktime.c.

Derek Clegg <dclegg@apple.com>

Suggested the simple, elegant fix for *_rd_never_used brain-damage.

Alan Cox <iiitac@pyr.swan.ac.uk>

Original Linux kernel accounting patches.

Scott Crosby <root@hypercube.res.cmu.edu>

Suggested idea behind --sort-real-time for sa.

Solar Designer <solar@false.com>

Added code for --ahz flag in lastcomm and sa.

Dirk Eddelbuettel <edd@miles.econ.queensu.ca>

Managed bug-fixes & etc. for Debian distribution, as well as the architect of merge of GNU + Debian distributions. A big thanks to Dirk for kicking me back into gear again after a long period of no work on this project.

Jason Grant <jamalcol@pc-5530.bc.rogers.wave.ca>

Identified a buffer-overrun bug in sa.

Kaveh R. Ghazi <ghazi@caip.rutgers.edu>

Tested the package on many systems with compilers other than gcc. Fixed K&R C support.

Susan Kleinmann <sgk@sgk.tiac.net>

Contributed excellent man pages!

Alexander Kourakos <Alexander@Kourakos.com>

Inspired the --wide option for last.

Marek Michalkiewicz <marekm@i17linuxb.ists.pwr.wroc.pl>

Suggested the --ip-address flag for last.

David S. Miller <davem@caip.rutgers.edu>

Noticed missing GNU-standard makefile rules.

Walter Mueller <walt@pi4.informatik.uni-mannheim.de>

Noticed install target was missing, and corrected a typo for prefix in Makefile.in.

Ian Murdock <imurdock@gnu.ai.mit.edu>

Tracked down miscellaneous bugs in sa.c under Linux. Added Debian package maintenance files.

Tuomo Pyhala <tuomo@lesti.kpnet.fi>

Reported buggy --strict-match flag in lastcomm.

Tim Schmielau <tim@physik3.uni-rostock.de>

Added Linux multiformat support.

Luc I. Suryo <root@patriots.nl.mugnet.org>

Suggested the --user flag for lastcomm.

Pedro A M Vazquez <vazquez@iqm.unicamp.br>

Fixed bugs in sa.c and tested under FreeBSD.

Marco van Wieringen <Marco.van.Wieringen@mcs.nl.mugnet.org>

Modified (wrote?) Linux kernel accounting patches.


[ < ] [ > ]   [ << ] [ Up ] [ >> ]         [Top] [Contents] [Index] [ ? ]

This document was generated on February, 6 2010 using texi2html 1.76.