Up: Top

Acknowledgments

Viper, formerly known as VIP-19, was written by Michael Kifer. Viper is based on the original VIP package by Masahiko Sato and on its enhancement, VIP 4.4, by Aamod Sane. This manual is an adaptation of the manual for VIP 4.4, which, in turn, was based on Sato's manual for VIP 3.5.

Many contributors on the Net pointed out bugs and suggested a number of useful features. Scott Bronson and Samuel Padgett contributed patches that were incorporated in this code. Here is a hopefully complete list of contributors:

     aaronl@vitelus.com (Aaron Lehmann),
     ahg@panix.com (Al Gelders),
     amade@diagram.fr (Paul-Bernard Amade),
     ascott@fws214.intel.com (Andy Scott),
     bronson@trestle.com (Scott Bronson),
     cook@biostat.wisc.edu (Tom Cook),
     csdayton@midway.uchicago.edu (Soren Dayton),
     dave@hellgate.utah.edu,
     dm@scs.cs.nyu.edu (David Mazieres),
     dominik@strw.LeidenUniv.nl (Carsten Dominik),
     dwallach@cs.princeton.edu (Dan Wallach),
     dwight@toolucky.llnl.gov (Dwight Shih),
     dxc@xprt.net (David X Callaway),
     edmonds@edmonds.home.cs.ubc.ca (Brian Edmonds),
     gin@mo.msk.ru (Golubev I.N.),
     gviswana@cs.wisc.edu (Guhan Viswanathan),
     gvr@halcyon.com (George V. Reilly),
     hatazaki@bach.convex.com (Takao Hatazaki),
     hpz@ibmhpz.aug.ipp-garching.mpg.de (Hans-Peter Zehrfeld),
     irie@t.email.ne.jp (Irie Tetsuya),
     jackr@dblues.engr.sgi.com (Jack Repenning),
     jamesm@bga.com (D.J. Miller II),
     jjm@hplb.hpl.hp.com (Jean-Jacques Moreau),
     jl@cse.ogi.edu (John Launchbury),
     jobrien@hchp.org (John O'Brien),
     johnw@borland.com (John Wiegley),
     kanze@gabi-soft.fr (James Kanze),
     kin@isi.com (Kin Cho),
     kwzh@gnu.org (Karl Heuer),
     lindstro@biostat.wisc.edu (Mary Lindstrom),
     lektu@terra.es (Juanma Barranquero),
     lennart.borgman.073@student.lu.se (Lennart Borgman),
     minakaji@osaka.email.ne.jp (Mikio Nakajima),
     Mark.Bordas@East.Sun.COM (Mark Bordas),
     meyering@comco.com (Jim Meyering),
     martin@xemacs.org (Martin Buchholz),
     mbutler@redfernnetworks.com (Malcolm Butler),
     mveiga@dit.upm.es (Marcelino Veiga Tuimil),
     paulk@summit.esg.apertus.com (Paul Keusemann),
     pfister@cs.stonybrook.edu (Hanspeter Pfister),
     phil_brooks@MENTORG.COM (Phil Brooks),
     pogrell@informatik.hu-berlin.de (Lutz Pogrell),
     pradyut@cs.uchicago.edu (Pradyut Shah),
     roderick@argon.org (Roderick Schertler),
     rxga@ulysses.att.com,
     sawdey@lcse.umn.edu (Aaron Sawdey),
     simonb@prl.philips.co.uk (Simon Blanchard),
     spadgett1@nc.rr.com (Samuel Padgett),
     stephen@farrell.org (Stephen Farrell),
     storm@cua.dk (Kim F. Storm),
     sudish@MindSpring.COM (Sudish Joseph),
     schwab@issan.informatik.uni-dortmund.de (Andreas Schwab)
     terra@diku.dk (Morten Welinder),
     thanh@informatics.muni.cz (Han The Thanh),
     toma@convex.convex.com,
     vrenjak@sun1.racal.com (Milan Vrenjak),
     whicken@dragon.parasoft.com (Wendell Hicken),
     zapman@cc.gatech.edu (Jason Zapman II),