GNU Astronomy Utilities

Previous: , Up: Introduction   [Contents][Index]

1.11 Acknowledgments

The list of Gnuastro authors is available at the start of this book and the AUTHORS file in the source code. Here the authors wish to gratefully acknowledge the help and support they received from other people and institutions who had an indirect (not committed in the version controlled history) role in Gnuastro. The plain text file THANKS which is distributed along with the source code also contains this list.

The Japanese Ministry of Science and Technology (MEXT) scholarship for Mohammad Akhlaghi’s Masters and PhD period in Tohoku University Astronomical Institute had an instrumental role in the long term learning and planning that made the idea of Gnuastro possible. The very critical view points of Professor Takashi Ichikawa (Mohammad’s adviser) were also instrumental in the initial ideas and creation of Gnuastro. The European Research Council (ERC) advanced grant 339659-MUSICOS (Principal investigator: Roland Bacon) was vital in the growth and expansion of Gnuastro, enabling a thorough re-write of the core functionality of all libraries and programs, turning Gnuastro into the large collection of generic programs and libraries it is today.

In general, we would like to gratefully thank the following people for their useful and constructive comments and suggestions (in alphabetical order by family name): Valentina Abril-melgarejo, Marjan Akbari, Roland Bacon, Karl Berry, Leindert Boogaard, Nicolas Bouché, Fernando Buitrago, Adrian Bunk, Rosa Calvi, Nushkia Chamba, Benjamin Clement, Nima Dehdilani, Antonio Diaz Diaz, Thérèse Godefroy, Madusha Gunawardhana, Stephen Hamer, Takashi Ichikawa, Raúl Infante Sainz, Brandon Invergo, Oryna Ivashtenko, Aurélien Jarno, Lee Kelvin, Brandon Kelly, Mohammad-Reza Khellat, Geoffry Krouchi, Floriane Leclercq, Alan Lefor, Guillaume Mahler, Juan Molina Tobar, Francesco Montanari, Dmitrii Oparin, Bertrand Pain, William Pence, Bob Proulx, Teymoor Saifollahi, Yahya Sefidbakht, Alejandro Serrano Borlaff, Jenny Sorce, Lee Spitler, Richard Stallman, Ole Streicher, Alfred M. Szmidt, Michel Tallon, Juan C. Tello, Éric Thiébaut, Ignacio Trujillo, David Valls-Gabaud, Aaron Watkins, Christopher Willmer, Sara Yousefi Taemeh, Johannes Zabl. The GNU French Translation Team is also managing the French version of the top Gnuastro webpage which we highly appreciate. Finally we should thank all the (sometimes anonymous) people in various online forums which patiently answered all our small (but important) technical questions.

All work on Gnuastro has been voluntary, but the authors are most grateful to the following institutions (in chronological order) for hosting us in our research:

Ministry of education, culture, sports, science and technology (MEXT), Japan.
Tohoku University Astronomical Institute, Sendai, Japan.
University of Salento, Lecce, Italy.
Centre national de la recherche scientifique (CNRS), France.
Centre de Recherche Astrophysique de Lyon, University of Lyon 1, France.

Previous: , Up: Introduction   [Contents][Index]