Next: , Previous: VC Change Log, Up: Version Control

28.1.8 Undoing Version Control Actions

C-x v u
Revert the work file(s) in the current VC fileset to the last revision (vc-revert).

If you want to discard all the changes you have made to the current VC fileset, type C-x v u (vc-revert). This shows you a diff between the work file(s) and the revision from which you started editing, and asks for confirmation for discarding the changes. If you agree, the fileset is reverted. If you don't want C-x v u to show a diff, set the variable vc-revert-show-diff to nil (you can still view the diff directly with C-x v =; see Old Revisions). Note that C-x v u cannot be reversed with the usual undo commands (see Undo), so use it with care.

On locking-based version control systems, C-x v u leaves files unlocked; you must lock again to resume editing. You can also use C-x v u to unlock a file if you lock it and then decide not to change it.