7.4.2 Moving the history file
This method is more dangerous, since it involves moving
files inside the repository. Read this entire section
before trying it out!
$ cd $CVSROOT/dir
$ mv old,v new,v
- The log of changes is maintained intact.
- The revision numbers are not affected.
- Old releases cannot easily be fetched from the
repository. (The file will show up as new even
in revisions from the time before it was renamed).
- There is no log information of when the file was renamed.
- Nasty things might happen if someone accesses the history file
while you are moving it. Make sure no one else runs any of the CVS
commands while you move it.